Written by Nairn County FC July 6th 2023


Goalscorers: Fraser Dingwall (85); Matthew Wright (13, 27, 30)

Nairn County continued their pre-season build up when they entertained Premiership side Ross County at Station Park.

County were fresh from their trip to the Western Isles, where they began with a 3-1 victory, with goals from Scottie Davidson and Tyler Eadie.

Ross County took a full squad with them to Station Park, with all 22 players getting much needed game time as they secured a 3-1 victory over the Highland League side.

The opening exchanges saw Nairn County on the offensive, with a fine through ball from Sam Gordon just failing to find new signing Ben Kelly, with Ross County defender Connall Ewan reading the danger.

The Premiership side were knocking the ball about well, and only the alert Dylan Maclean denied Matthew Wright the opener. Twice in quick succession the keeper was called into action to deny Jordan White as Ross County probed for the opener.

However, after just fifteen minutes, they made the breakthrough. Josh Reid jinked his way to the byeline, and his well struck cross was headed home at the near post by the alert Matthew Wright.

The Victoria Park side increased their lead after 28 minutes, when the home side failed to clear their lines effectively, and Wright was on hand to fire home his second of the night from ten yards.

Three minutes later, the same player completed his hat-trick in impressive style by steering home a corner kick, with a near post flick.

The second period saw the home side almost reduce the leeway after 75 minutes, when Kenny Mackenzie weaved his way to the byeline, but his fine cutback was blazed over the bar by Ben Kelly.

The home side continued to probe for an opening and they were finally rewarded with seven minutes remaining. A free kick was flighted into the box, with the loose ball falling for skipper Fraser Dingwall to fire through a ruck of players low into the corner of the net with Logan Ross helpless.

An excellent workout for the home side as they look to build up their fitness as the new season approaches.

NAIRN COUNTY: Dylan Maclean (Lewis Munro 81): Callum Maclean (Cameron Lisle 81), Kenny Mackenzie (Stephen Rennie), Ross Tokely, Fraser Dingwall, Wayne MacKintosh (Ciaran Young 64), Sam Gordon, Alisdair Gillies, Ben Kelly (Trialist 58) Tyler Eadie, Angue Dey

ROSS COUNTY: Munro (Ross) Randall (Smith) Purrington (Harmon) Randall (Macleod) Allardice (Turner) Ewan (Baldwin) Dhanda (Sheaf) Reid (Henderson) Wright (Murray) White (Samuel) Sims (Robertson)

Match Referee:  Gordon Morrison


Other News

5 hours ago

Ross Tokely's final match

April 10th 2024

Steven Mackay to stand down as manager

April 7th 2024

Stephen Grant

April 2nd 2024

Match Worn TeamHamish Third Shirts Available to Buy

February 25th 2024

Sporting Dinner 2024 Auction List

February 23rd 2024

Matthew Strachan returns for a second loan spell

February 23rd 2024

George Robesten returns to Ross County

February 7th 2024

Sam Gordon and Ben Kelly make temporary switch to Forres Mechanics